Leadership

VASCD is governed by a Board of Directors which includes officers, committee chairs, and an elected representative of each of Virginia’s eight Superintendents’ regions. We constantly strive to expand and diversify leadership, which strengthens our organization. VASCD members from around the Commonwealth serve on committees, host events, write for our publications, present at our conferences, and contribute to our mission a variety of other ways.

The Board employs an Executive Director and an Events Coordinator to manage the daily operations of the organization.



Board of Directors Members

Robin Hoffman

President
Instructional Specialist, Virginia Beach
Email: rlhoffman@vbschools.com
Phone: 757.648.5140

Joe Douglas

Past President
Instructional Specialist, Colonial Heights
Email: joe_douglas@colonialhts.net
Phone: 804-524-3435

Pat Griffin

Treasurer
Retired from Virginia Beach
Email: patvabch@cox.net
Phone: 757.353.7760

Jennifer Orr

Secretary
Teacher, Fairfax
Email: jenorr@gmail.com
Phone: 703.455.7382

Tom Debolt

Past President, Parliamentarian
Retired from Manassas Park
Email: tdebolt44@gmail.com
Phone: 703.298.3642

Thomas Taylor

Region 1 Representative
Chief Academic Officer, Chesterfield County Schools
Email: thomas_taylor@ccpsnet.net
Phone: 804.393.1865

Veleka Gatling

Region 2 Representative
Lecturer, Old Dominion University
Email: vgatling@odu.edu
Phone: 757-683-5163

Sarah Calveric

Region 3 Representative
Assistant Superintendent, Caroline County Schools
Email: scalveric@ccps.us
Phone: 804-633-5088

Amy Acors

Region 4 Representative
Director of Instruction, Fauquier County Schools
Email: aacors@fcps1.org
Phone: 540.422.7018

Forrest Burgdorf

Region 5 Representative
Middle/ High School Supervisor, Augusta County Schools
Email: fburgdorf@augusta.k12.va.us
Phone: 540-245-5173

Alan Seibert

Region 6 Representative
Superintendent, Salem City Schools
Email: aseibert@salem.k12.va.us
Phone: 540.389.0130

Kristie Legg

Region 7 Representative
Assistant Superintendent, Galax City Schools
Email: kristielegg@galaxschools.com
Phone: 276.236.6159

Daniel Smith

Past President, Advocacy Chair
Principal, Virginia Beach City Schools
Email: daniel.smith2@vbschools.com
Phone: 757.648.5649

Amy Griffin

Region 8 Representative
Superintendent, Cumberland County Schools
Email: agriffin@cucps.k12.va.us
Phone: 804.492.4212

Eric Carbaugh

VASCD Journal Editor
Associate Professor, James Madison University
Email: carbauem@jmu.edu
Phone: 540.220.0262

Julie Myers

Annual Conference Chair
Director Middle/Secondary Instruction, Frederick County Schools
Email: myersj@fcpsk12.net
Phone: 540.662.3889

Chris Jones

Programs Co-Chair
Principal, Chesterfield County Schools
Email: Christopherm_jones@ccpsnet.net
Phone: 804-768-6245

Diane Washenberger

Programs Co-Chair
Director of Instruction, Salem City Schools
Email: dwashenberger@salem.k12.va.us
Phone: 540.389.0130

Daryl Chesley

Governance Chair
Director of Professional Education, UNOS
Email: Daryl.Chesley@unos.org
Phone: 804.782.4504

Ebbie Linaburg

Awards Chair
Retired from Shenandoah County
Email: elinaburg@gmail.com
Phone: 540-327-0657

Melany Stowe

Communications Chair
Assistant Director of Academics and Communications, New College Institute
Email: mstowe@newcollegeinstitute.org
Phone: 434-766-6766

Melanie Kay-Wyatt

ASCD Liaison
Assistant Director of Human Resources, Spotsylvania County Schools
Email: educatemelanie@gmail.com
Phone: 540.372.1145